A Visit to CRIBS 

Last Monday, 15-June, my colleagues and I volunteered at CRIBS Foundation in Marikina City. I am glad to be a part of a company that practices Corporate Social Responsibility. A company willing to give back to the community by lending a helping hand.
   
 

For me, the foundation is a big house turned into an alternative home for abandoned and neglected children. When we arrived, we were welcomed by one of their staff, Josie, who was originally from England and is staying here for a year now, serving CRIBS. Allow me to just express my admiration for Josie. I was just moved by her heart to help and oh wait, she speaks Filipino very well by the way. Hahaha! But seriously, imagine yourself, leaving your own country… Leaving your comfort zone to go to a place you don’t know. For what purpose? For me it’s gonna take a lot of courage, determination and a heart full of compassion and desire to serve. So kudos to her! ☺️ 

Anyway, so there, we volunteered for two hours. We helped in taking care of the crawlers (6 months to 1yr old). Parang kinurot ang puso ko, when I saw those children, so young, so innocent and yet abandoned and some surrendered by their own parents. I don’t want to and I’m not in the position to judge but my question is why? I never and cannot even imagine myself leaving my very own child. Yung hindi ko nga lang makasama si Nyra ng isang gabi, di na ako mapakali eh. What more, neglecting her for weeks, months, years and the rest of my life. But for whatever reason those parents may have, I respect them. One thing’s for sure, God is a Father to the fatherless. And that He has a purpose (though it may not be clear for now), but at the end of the day, surely He will be glorified in the lives of those kids. 

A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling. (‭Psalm‬ ‭68‬:‭5‬ NIV)

And thankfully, we have organization like CRIBS willing to care for those children and help in finding a new home and a family for them. 

Brief Background:

CRIBS Foundation Inc. (formerly C.R.I.B.S Philippines Inc.) was started in 1974 by American missionary wives who brought home two children from the Reception and Study Center of the Department of Social Welfare and Development.

Today, CRIBS Foundation Inc. is a child caring and child placing (foster care) agency. 

What They Do:

1. Receiving Home – provides an alternative home for the abandoned, surrendered, neglected and dependent children (0-4 yrs old) with the end goal of placing them with either their birth families or adoptive families.

2. New Beginnings – addresses healing and recovery of sexually abused female minors (7-17 yrs old). This includes home life, formal education, therapy, individual & group counseling, basic health services, family counseling and aftercare services.

3. Post Residential Care

4. Foster Care

5. Community Advocacy

6. Volunteer Program

So, to those who want to extend their help either by volunteering, donating or it may be God’s speaking to you to foster or adopt a child, you may reach them: 

CRIBS Foundation Inc.                         15 Major Dizon St., Industrial Valley Complex, Marikina City, 1802 PH              Telephone: (632) 681-8078, (632) 681-5921, (632) 576-7693                               Cellphone: 0917-5112741                       Email: vrp.cribs@gmail.com                   http://www.cribsfoundation.com

Oh before I forget, let me show you some pictures we took. Although, photos were not allowed inside for the security and protection of the children.  

   
                                              

9 thoughts on “A Visit to CRIBS 

  1. I’ve never heard about CRIBS before, thanks for this post – now I know. I pray that more and more people will know about them and spread the news so more people can also volunteer and donate. I hope we can visit this place too.

    Like

  2. It really feels great to help. I studied in Asilo. It used to be school with an orphanage so some of our classmates are orphans. So at a very young age namulat ako sa katotohanang maswerte ako. And sila. Because they are very well taken cared of. So until now, I try to help as much as I could.

    Like

  3. I’ve been there too and I have the same admiration for Josie! Galing noh and such compassion for a cause outside her own country! When we went there, we met a guy who was looking into adopting one of the kids inside. He regularly visits and checks on the kid. I hope he is able to adopt na din the kid by now. 🙂

    Like

  4. They transferred na? The first time I went there, I was in first year highschool. Sa may Pasig River pa yun. I could remember clearly, there was this two-year old girl named Regine. She keeps on calling me “Mama” and according to the people in charge, she was left daw when she was two months old. Wala man lang nakakita. I wanna visit CRIBS soon and give back to them 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

