What To Do When There is No Way Out

When life gets tough, is there an easy way out? 
  
Well, how I wish it would be that simple. 

Sometimes, rather, most of the time, when we go through a lot of challenges in life, we can’t help but just hope that everything would end. That, in one click, everything will be okay. That in one blink, all the problems, & all the things that’s causing us to hurt will just disappear as if nothing ever happened. 

But, why can’t it just happen? Why is it so difficult? So hard, that questions like, “Does God know what I am going through?”, “Is He ever gonna take me out from this mess?”, “Is He punishing me?”, “Is this part of His plan… To see me suffer?” And the questions never end….

I admit, I myself, am going through challenges in life and there are times I tend to ask Him those questions. 

But you know what, everytime I come to Him and read His word, I am reminded that it is not in His character to hurt us. Yes, He is a God of justice, but He is also a compassionate and loving God. In fact, those times that we are down on our knees, crying, there He is weeping with us. 

And when the Lord saw her, he had compassion on her and said to her, “Do not weep.” (‭Luke‬ ‭7‬:‭13‬ ESV)

Now, if that is the case, WHY does He let us go through hardships in life? 

It is because aside from the fact that He wants to be glorified in whatever circumstance you are in, He wants us to learn.

On a parent’s point of view it is like this: 

There are times that we need to let our children fall, let them stumble and get wounded. Why? Not because we don’t love them or we neglect our responsibility as parents but because there are just some life lessons that are learned the hard way.

I believe, God is also like that. As a Father, He is not just after our comfort. Though, yes, He wants to bless us but His main goal is to hone us. He wants to build our character as His children. He is more concerned with our hearts. 

And the blessings, and comfort, that will just follow when we have our eyes and hearts set on Him. 

Christianity is not about having a storm-free life, but rather, a storm-proof life. 

 Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. (‭Romans‬ ‭5‬:‭3-5‬ ESV)

So, I guess the right question to ask God everytime we go through trials is this: 

Lord, I admit that I cannot do this on my own, and I am holding on to your promise that You are more than willing to take me out from here. But while I am on this situation, what do you want to tell me? What do you want to teach me? Here I am, Lord, mold me. 

How about you? What season are you in right now? I pray that whatever, wherever you may be in right now, that you won’t miss His voice telling you what you need to learn. Let’s fight the good fight of faith! Better days are yet to come. 😊 

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; (‭Lamentations‬ ‭3‬:‭22‬ ESV)

Leave a Reply

