Grace in the Midst of Defeat

Today, we, Filipinos once again stood for and became one for our support to the one and only “Pambansang Kamao”, Manny Pacquiao as he fought with Floyd Mayweather. The fight of the century, as they say. I haven’t watched it & thankfully I did not dare to, or else I would have been more disappointed. I just read all the threads on Twitter (one good thing about social media) and voila, I am updated on what happened. 

Now, apparently, Pacman lost the fight. It was a sad day for many, especially to us, Filipinos. A lot of comments I’ve read says it should be Pacquiao who won.. And Mayweather’s strategy was just to run and hug Pacman (I don’t know if I am using the right term… I am not a boxing expert, my apologies) and was no match to what Pacquiao have shown in the ring.  Those are just but a few of the rants and negative feedback of the people. I won’t go into much technicalities and I will not give my own comment, not because I don’t care or I wanted Mayweather to win, because I, for one wished and prayed for Pacman to win this game. It could have brought pride and honor to our country. Now, I am choosing to shut my mouth, because, first, as I have mentioned I am not a boxing expert. Second, for whatever reason it is, Mayweather still is the winner. My negative comment or me bashing him won’t change the judges’ decision, will it? Not that I am against those netizens who posted their thoughts in the social media (seriously, I respect all those comments). And I think it’s just fair to respect the decision. And third, I think I am not in the position to complain or boo Mayweather. Why? Because the person he won over with, Pacquiao, himself did not say anything negative about him winning. Yeah, sure he did say that he thought he won and that Mayweather was running, but never did he belittle his opponent just because he lost.

That’s one thing I admire about Pacquiao. Grace in the midst of defeat. Win or lose, he still chose to honor God. And I believe God was, is, and is going to be gloried in his life. Pacquiao clearly understood what it means to be a real victor. That it isn’t just about the fame, money, title, the belt, etc. He knew the ultimate goal, that is why eventhough he did not win this fight, he is still indeed victorious, not just for us, but most importantly to Him who created all of us. He even said in one of his interviews, that one thing that he really wants is to talk to Mayweather after the fight, to share his faith and to disciple him. Such boldness and courage, Pacquiao has. Wow, just wow! I am pretty much sure, God in heaven was saying, “that’s my boy..well done faithful servant.”

His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ (‭Matthew‬ ‭25‬:‭21‬ ESV)

So, I guess Manny “Pacman” Pacquiao was not a loser after all. Yes, Mayweather may have been the winner but Pacquiao (in our hearts) is a true champion. 👍🏻☺️

  

One thought on “Grace in the Midst of Defeat

Leave a Reply

