Unequal Marital Yoke

Question for wives: 

Ever felt being alone in your faith? 

My answer? I did, and I still do. As you all know, I am a Christian. My husband? Yes, he is too. But there are times (most of the time 😓) I feel, we’re not walking side by side in our faith. 
Even before I met him, I am already a believer. And him? Let’s just say, he was living a worldly life… Drinking, having fun with no direction (good thing he wasn’t into drugs😖). But name it, he’s been into one relationship to another. Now, I am not saying this to make him appear as a bad guy in the story. I, too, although a believer was still imperfect in so many ways. And I’m no longer gonna go into details how filthy we were before we finally and wholeheartedly gave our lives to Christ. 

Yes, we surrendered our lives to Christ. And you pictured it right, we’re both Christians. Now, shouldn’t that be a perfect scenario? Well,I guess not. Because as I have stated above, I usually feel that we do not have the same level of desire to pursue our walk with God. I am not saying that I am holy and he is not. Coz, I myself, has also a share of being a failure. But, I just feel that as a couple we should be one in faith, right? We should be doing this together. We should be building up our faith in Christ together. But why do I feel, I’m all alone in this? And I can’t help but ask, did I marry the wrong guy? Have I done something wrong that God caused this to happen? Is He punishing me? 

What should I do??

And then I came along with this book: 

When He Doesn’t Believe by Nancy Kennedy
 
I started reading the Introduction and first chapter, and realized that I am not the only wife who feels this way. That I share the same sentiment with other wives. I am not alone all along. 

I am again, reminded that God is still God and He is in control.  That as much as I would love to be walking hand in hand with my husband in our faith, God is more so over, dying to see us be as one in Him. But question is, why is He letting this happen? I also don’t know. But one thing is for sure, this is part of His plan… His mighty, wonderful plan. That one day, we would realize that he let us go through this for a greater reason, a greater purpose. 

So does this mean it’s gonna be easy? Hell, no! 😝 It’s gonna take so much effort, so much patience and commitment for each other to be able to stick together and bear with one another. And not only that, it’s gonna take a leap of faith and millions of prayer to patiently wait for the day. 

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. (‭Ephesians‬ ‭3‬:‭20-21‬ ESV)

And I quote, “God is in charge and able to do above all we ask or think.” -Nancy Kennedy

 And to you, who’s reading this. I do not know what you’re going through right now. Whether you be a wife, a mom, a dad, a student, young professional, a businessman, etc., I pray that God will give you the strength and courage to face all the challenges in life. That as you go through this circumstance, your heart will be transformed and renewed every morning. God is good and He is good all the time. And for you, who may not be going through any of life’s circumstances, I am rejoicing with you and I pray that God continously give you joy and peace in your heart and that He blesses you exceedingly & abundantly. 

What do you do when your shoes don’t match and God’s in control? That’s easy – you dance. – When He Doesn’t Believe by Nancy Kennedy

Leave a Reply

