Restday Well-Spent

My restday’s about to end. And tomorrow will be the start of another work week for me. 

I am grateful for my work. If I haven’t mention, I work for a bank as a Phonebanking Officer. I am a Nurse by profession, however I did not practice it. Let’s just say, my passion is to talk and provide world-class customer service. 😁😊😉

As a working mom, I always look forward for my restdays or time off. Coz that means, I get to spend more time with my family, especially with my daughter. Of course, I am hoping that someday, I’ll be a full time homemaker, but probably not now… In God’s perfect time.

Anyway, how I spent my restday this week was kinda like “stay-at-home-restday.” I got a chance to workout (Zumba) and spend quality time with Nyra, my little princess. 

   

  

That’s me with my little one. My apologies for the low quality pictures. 😂 

Lately, I realized how important quality time is especially with her. She grows so fast, (not to mention she’ll be turning three this 18-Apr), that one day of not being with her feels like I’ve missed a lot about her growth and development. You being there does not necessarily mean you are having quality time with your loved one. It’s gonna take you more than that. It means, you have to get rid of your usual routine… Setting aside your “Facebook, Twitter, Instagram (and all sorts of social media) time”… That means not thinking about your deadline for work the next day… 

Quality time is you being there, taking time to listen and understand what your loved one has to say. It is you focusing on that other person (in my case, my daughter) and not just on the things that you’re doing together. It’s you not timing your so called “quality time.” 

To be in your children’s memories tomorrow, you have to be in their lives today. – Barbara Johnson

So I am choosing to be with her, play with her (whether that means I have to do kids stuff, which I love anyway 😅), talk to her instead of going out and having “me” time. I guess, things really change when you become a mom… Priorities change. You would no longer think of yourself first but consider your family’s needs first. As a mom, my main goal is to see my family happy, at peace and full of love. I am not a perfect wife nor a perfect mother, but by God’s grace, I know I can do it. 

I can do all things through him who strengthens me. (‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭13‬ ESV) 

Anyway, here is my lovely and adorable daughter playing:

   

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. (‭Psalm‬ ‭127‬:‭3‬ ESV)

Oh, the joy of being a mom when you see your little one so happy not because of the material things they have but because of your presence reassuring them that you are there. 

The greatest gift you can give someone is your TIME. Because when you give your time, you are giving a portion of your life that you will never get back.

Leave a Reply

